Angebote zu "Hitler's" (4 Treffer)

Kategorien

Shops

Murder Cum Laude , Hörbuch, Digital, 1, 828min
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

The next bubble to burst will be the education bubble. Make no mistake about it, education is big business and, like other big businesses, it is in big trouble. -Professor Mark C. Taylor, Columbia University, New York Times, Opinion, July 12, 2009. A young, salt-of-the-earth family is caught up in a cyclone of greed, after Dennis Winecoop accepts a position at Washington, D.C.'s Utopia University. Believing he was hired to advise graduate students in history, Professor Winecoop finds he is teaching a full schedule of "Murder 101." The first lesson, it seems, occurred just days before he was hired, when his predecessor was found grotesquely murdered in his bath. The intrigues of multiple murders are the catalysts that drive this dynamic and compelling tale to a shocking conclusion. The events and characters of Murder Cum Laude reveal the ugly reality of Washington politics and one man's aggressive efforts to uncover the truth. A graduate of the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy, author Bruce Zortman served as a top secret courier during the Korean Conflict. He was awarded a one-year Taussig Fellowship to the Free University in Berlin. As an NDEA Fellow, he earned his PhD with distinction from UCLA. His 25 years as a professional educator include positions at Santa Monica College and American University in Washington, D.C. He is the author of Hitler's Theater (1985), an acting textbook, scholarly articles and several produced plays. Presently, he is Commodore of the Tucson Sailing Club. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Joseph B. Kearns. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/acx0/026969/bk_acx0_026969_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 11.08.2020
Zum Angebot
On Hitler's Mein Kampf
13,20 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

An examination of the narrative strategies employed in the most dangerous book of the twentieth century and a reflection on totalitarian literature.Hitler's Mein Kampf was banned in Germany for almost seventy years, kept from being reprinted by the accidental copyright holder, the Bavarian Ministry of Finance. In December 2015, the first German edition of Mein Kampf since 1946 appeared, with Hitler's text surrounded by scholarly commentary apparently meant to act as a kind of cordon sanitaire. And yet the dominant critical assessment (in Germany and elsewhere) of the most dangerous book of the twentieth century is that it is boring, unoriginal, jargon-laden, badly written, embarrassingly rabid, and altogether ludicrous. (Even in the 1920s, the consensus was that the author of such a book had no future in politics.) How did the unreadable Mein Kampf manage to become so historically significant? In this book, German literary scholar Albrecht Koschorke attempts to explain the power of Hitler's book by examining its narrative strategies.Koschorke argues that Mein Kampf cannot be reduced to an ideological message directed to all readers. By examining the text and the signals that it sends, he shows that we can discover for whom Hitler strikes his propagandistic poses and who is excluded. Koschorke parses the borrowings from the right-wing press, the autobiographical details concocted to make political points, the attack on the Social Democrats that bleeds into an anti-Semitic conspiracy theory, the contempt for science, and the conscious attempt to trigger outrage.A close reading of National Socialism's definitive text, Koschorke concludes, can shed light on the dynamics of fanaticism. This lesson of Mein Kampf still needs to be learned.

Anbieter: Dodax
Stand: 11.08.2020
Zum Angebot
Hitler's Secret
8,28 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

The most anticipated spy thriller of 2020, from the award-winning author of Corpus. &lt,/font&gt,___________________Autumn 1941. The war is going badly for Britain and its allies. If Hitler is to be stopped, a new weapon is desperately needed.In Cambridge, professor Tom Wilde is approached by an American intelligence officer who claims to know of such a weapon - one so secret even Hitler himself isn't aware of its existence. If Wilde can smuggle the package out of Germany, the Third Reich will surely fall.But it is only when he is deep behind enemy lines that Wilde discovers why the Nazis are so desperate to prevent the 'package' falling into Allied hands. And as ruthless killers hunt him through Europe, a treacherous question hangs over the mission: if Hitler's secret will win them the war, why is Wilde convinced it must remain hidden?Dramatic, intelligent, and utterly compelling, Hitler's Secret is the Sunday Times bestselling spy thriller of 2020 from the award-winning author of Corpus and Nucleus - perfect for readers of Robert Harris, C J Sansom and Joseph Kanon._____________________________Praise for Rory Clements:'Political polarisation, mistrust and simmering violence' The Times 'A standout historical novel and spy thriller' Daily Express 'Enjoyable, bloody and brutish' Guardian 'A dramatic, twisty thriller' Daily Mail 'A colourful history lesson . . . exciting narrative twists' Sunday Telegraph

Anbieter: Dodax
Stand: 11.08.2020
Zum Angebot

Ähnliche Suchbegriffe